Design impacts travel in ways small and large—shaping everything from fashion and luggage to hotel rooms and city skylines. Now we want to know what inspires you.

Travel + Leisure’s 2012 Design Awards are a tribute to both the practical and thebeautiful. The 2012 winners, representing 12 categories, will be chosen by a panel of outstanding experts in their fields. Jury members include: architect Billie Tsien; chef and restaurateur Marcus Samuelsson; fashion designer Derek Lam; Paul Priestman, director of Priestmangoode; Robert Hammond, co-founder and executive director of Friends of the High Line; Michael Bruno, founder of; designer Muriel Brandolini; and artist Michele Oka Doner.

Last year’s winners (see video, above) included the futuristic Yas Hotel in Abu Dhabi (Best Large Hotel); the renovation of the United Kingdom’s oldest public museum, the Ashmolean, in Oxford (Best Museum); andPriestmangoode’s innovative staterooms, designed for Norwegian Cruise Line’s Norwegian Epic ship (Best Transportation).

If you’re excited about something that we should consider for the 2012 awards, please drop us an email at or fill out an application here. The deadline for nominations is Monday, October 3.

The winning entries will be published in our March 2012 issue.