Canfranc International Railway, in the Spanish municipality of Canfranc, near the French border, was once a gigantic, opulent railway station situated in the Spanish Pyrenees.
Since the 1970s, however, the huge, palace-like building has been abandoned — but plans have been proposed by the local government in Aragon to refurbish the building to its former glory.
The station was opened by King Alfonso XIII in 1928, and features over 300 large windows, intricate plaster detail and art deco designs. The enormous station has a main building that is over 787 feet long.
During World War II, the station was used by allied soldiers and Jewish people to escape into Spain.
Recently, there has been a surge in small tours through the station’s underground tunnels. According to Lonely Planet, more than 100,000 people have visited the site in the last four years, which must have been one of the reasons the local government decided to bring the building back to life, so to speak.
At the moment, there are two daily trains that run to Canfranc. For more information on the guided tours at Canfranc, travelers can visit the historical location’s official website.