Tri-State Area Travelers Required to Quarantine Upon Returning From These States

Travel to Pennsylvania is also discouraged, but visitors will not have to quarantine.

People wearing masks in front of the Manhattan skyline
Photo: Gary Hershorn/Getty

In the wake of COVID-19, travelers visiting New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut from certain states around the country will be required to quarantine for two weeks upon arrival. Initially announced in June, the quarantine mandate was decided in agreement among New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo, New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy, and Connecticut Gov. Ned Lamont.

States that have a “high infection rate” of COVID-19 or any state with an infection rate of more than 10 per 100,000 residents on a seven-day rolling average are included on the list. The rule applies to travelers that arrive via any mode of transportation.

The list, established in June has adjusted accordingly as coronavirus continues to impact the country as a whole. In October, as the tri-state area began to see an uptick in cases again, the three governors discouraged non-essential travel between their respective states.

"We're urging all of our residents to avoid unnecessary or non-essential travel between states at this time, but will not subject residents of our states to a quarantine if coming from a neighboring state," the announcement read. Travel to Pennsylvania is also discouraged, but visitors will not have to quarantine.

U.S. territories including Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands are also included on the list.

The current list is as follows:

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arkansas
  4. Arizona
  5. California
  6. Colorado
  7. Delaware
  8. Florida
  9. Georgia
  10. Guam
  11. Iowa
  12. Idaho
  13. Illinois
  14. Indiana
  15. Iowa
  16. Kansas
  17. Kentucky
  18. Louisiana
  19. Maryland
  20. Michigan
  21. Minnesota
  22. Missouri
  23. Mississippi
  24. Montana
  25. Nebraska
  26. Nevada
  27. New Mexico
  28. North Carolina
  29. North Dakota
  30. Ohio
  31. Oklahoma
  32. Puerto Rico
  33. Rhode Island
  34. South Carolina
  35. South Dakota
  36. Tennessee
  37. Texas
  38. Utah
  39. Virginia
  40. West Virginia
  41. Wisconsin
  42. Wyoming

Travelers visiting from the states and territories listed above may be required to disclose where they will be quarantining or face various penalties depending on which state they're in. Those visiting New York may face a $2,000 fine, and anyone heading to Connecticut may face a $1,000 fine.

New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut are at various levels of reopening as they continue to grapple with the fallout of coronavirus. For specific information on where each state is at in their reopening plan, see below:

New York

New Jersey


Elsewhere in the U.S., Chicago, Massachusetts, and Maryland have implemented various travel advisories or quarantine mandates.

Updated by
Christine Burroni
Christine Burroni
Christine Burroni is a news editor at Travel + Leisure. Prior to joining T+L, she was an associate news editor at the New York Post and a web editor at NBCUniversal.
Was this page helpful?
Related Articles