It's Meghan Markle and Prince Harry's wedding day, and Kensington Palace has finally announced their new royal titles.

As expected, Meghan will be granted the title of duchess, just as Kate Middleton was when she married Prince William in 2011. At that time, the Queen bestowed upon William the Dukedom of Cambridge, meaning he and Kate became known as the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge.

"The Queen has today been pleased to confer a Dukedom on Prince Henry of Wales. His titles will be Duke of Sussex, Earl of Dumbarton and Baron Kilkeel," the Palace said in a statement. "Prince Harry thus becomes His Royal Highness The Duke of Sussex, and Ms. Meghan Markle on marriage will become Her Royal Highness The Duchess of Sussex."

Royal Central reported that there hasn't been a Duke and Duchess of Sussex since 1843.

Royal historian Marlene Koenig told Royal Musings that upon marriage Meghan's rank would be "princess by marriage of the United Kingdom, Great Britain and Northern Ireland.”

Additionally, Meghan will also be known by a rather odd title: Princess Henry of Wales. She will gain that title because she will officially take her husband’s name once they wed. However, that title will likely be in writing only. The only living royal to officially go by her husband’s name is Princess Michael of Kent, who wed her husband, Prince Michael, in 1978.

But, to make things even more confusing, Meghan will never, ever, be Princess Meghan. That title is reserved only for those born into the royal bloodline. For example, while Princess Charlotte is a true princess, her mother, Kate Middleton, is not. As we do with Kate, however, most of the public will likely just stick to simply calling her Meghan, royal ring or not.