Costa Rica No Longer Requires a COVID-19 Test for Visitors

Costa Rica will accept all U.S. citizens starting Nov. 1.

Costa Rica Beach
Photo: DEA/G. COZZI /Contributor/Getty Images

Editor's note: Those who choose to travel are strongly encouraged to check local government restrictions, rules, and safety measures related to COVID-19 and take personal comfort levels and health conditions into consideration before departure.

As Costa Rica prepares to welcome all American travelers on Nov. 1, the country announced it will no longer require a COVID-19 test for those who visit.

In the announcement, obtained by Travel + Leisure, Tourism Minister Gustavo J. Segura said the move was to stimulate the economy but urged businesses to maintain health and safety protocol.

“I reiterate my call to companies in the tourism sector to continue with the commitment to apply prevention protocols in a very comprehensive manner and to national and international tourists to practice tourism responsibly, following all the precautionary measures that have been recommended to avoid contagion," he said. "The observance and adoption of these protocols is critical to give continuity overtime to these gradual measures of economic opening, which undoubtedly help to protect thousands of jobs in the tourism sector throughout the country.”

The State Department however advises Americans against visiting with a Level 4 advisory of "Do Not Travel."

Currently, the country is allowing visitors from:

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Texas
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington D.C.
  • Wyoming

Travelers coming from the states listed above will have to show their U.S. driver's license upon arrival to show proof of residence in an approved state. Those who fly privately are also allowed to enter, however, if flying from an unapproved state the visitors will need to apply and be pre-approved by the Ministry of Health and the General Directorate of Migration and Immigration.

Citizens from Mexico, Canada, the United Kingdom, Europe's Schengen zone, Australia, and New Zealand are allowed to visit. From the Caribbean, Costa Rica is only accepting travelers from Jamaica, and from Asia, the country is only accepting travelers from Japan, South Korea, Thailand, Singapore, and China. From South America, Costa Rica is only accepting travelers from Uruguay.

Travelers must also have insurance, which can be purchased in Costa Rica through its National Insurance Institute or local company Sagicor if needed. The policy needs to cover up to $50,000 in medical costs should a traveler become sick while on their trip.

Visitors are also expected to comply with the airports' mandatory mask rule and physical distancing protocols.

Further travel information is listed on their tourism website, Essential Costa Rica.

Christine Burroni is Travel + Leisure’s Digital News Editor. Find her keeping up with just about everything on Twitter or see what she’s up to in NYC or on her latest trip on Instagram.

Was this page helpful?
Related Articles