Royal Ontario Museum
The Royal Ontario Museum, located near Queen’s Park and the University of Toronto, attracts over a million people each year. Opened to the public in 1914, the Neo-Romanesque brick façade received a dazzling—if controversial—upgrade in 2007 with the Michael Lee-Chin Crystal wing. Architect Daniel Libeskind's deconstructionist plan for the Crystal (five interlocking prisms supported by steal beams) seems to crash into the original building. The museum's permanent exhibits focus on world cultures and natural history, including a stunning gem collection that inspired Libeskind's design for the Crystal, the Bishop White Gallery of Chinese Temple Art, and the second-level dinosaur galleries.