Old Patent Office Building
Now renamed the Donald W. Reynolds Center, the Old Patent Office Building is the focal point of the Penn Quarter, covering an entire city block at the intersection of 8th and F Streets. Designed by Robert Mills and Thomas U. Walter, the Greek Revival structure was built between 1836 and 1868, making it the city’s third oldest federal building. The impressive structure—which includes Parthenon-style porticos and oversize skylights—served as a hospital during the Civil War and housed the U.S. Patent Office until 1932. Today, the building is home to the National Portrait Gallery and Smithsonian American Art Museum.