Smith Museum of Stained Glass Windows
The country’s first museum dedicated solely to stained-glass windows, the Smith Museum is located inside Festival Hall on Navy Pier. The museum’s collection, which spans from 1870 to the present, consists of 150 windows created by both world-renowned and lesser-known artists, including Louis Comfort Tiffany, John LaFarge, and Ed Paschke. Highlights include a contemporary window made from soda bottles, a stained-glass portrait of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and the Richard H. Driehaus Gallery, which houses 13 original pieces from Tiffany’s New York studio. A darkened atmosphere and dramatic backlighting enhance the displays.