Getty Images

This story originally appeared on SouthernLiving.com.

Relax and rejuvenate with a good book. The wedding planning frenzy is finally over. Decompress after months of preparation and celebration with a good book on your island honeymoon getaway. While you’re sipping on a tropical rum punch, enjoy a captivating book that you won’t want to put down. And even if you’re just taking a spring break trip to the beach, browse this list of buzzy books for your next vacation.

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Though released a few summers ago, this thrilling novel is still being talked about, as it’s recently been adapted into a must-watch HBO mini series starring Reese Witherspoon, Nicole Kidman, Shailene Woodley, and more. But we suggest reading the book before binge-watching the television show. Set in a seaside town, three women grapple with earth-shattering scandals, secrets, and lies that will keep you on the edge of your beach chair.

South and West by Joan Didion

Best-selling author Joan Didion is back with her latest release: a series of her personal notebooks. The first section presents the notebooks she kept while traveling through the Deep South with her husband during the 1970s. The second part is from the notebooks she kept in California during the same decade. Didion’s captures the landscape of our country during this time, offering poignant observation and insightful perspective.

Related: Here's What Your Favorite Southern Small Town Says About You

The Magnolia Story by Chip and Joanna Gaines

HGTV’s Fixer Upper husband-and-wife team Chip and Joanna Gaines are the definition of couple goals. Their best-selling book takes an inside look into their strong marriage and family life as well as the path that led to the creation and growth of their popular brand. Newlyweds should jot down a few tips from this all-star couple.

Related: Comfortable Shoes Under $100

My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella

If you loved Confessions of a Shopaholic, you’ll love author Sophie Kinsella’s latest book. With her signature humor and wit, Kinsella tells the story of Katie Brenner, a social media-obsessed young professional living in London who falls in love with her boss. When she’s fired and returns to her family’s farm to help with her father’s business, Katie’s urban and rural lives face head-on to reveal what matters most in life.

Related: There's a Dolly Parton Course Headed to the University of Tennessee

Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly

Fans of The Nightingale and All the Light We Cannot See will love this compelling novel that follow three women through World War II. Located in Poland, Paris, and Germany, the three powerful stories intertwine as the women bravely fight to survive in Nazi-occupied Europe.

Once you're ready for more, check out our list of best books by Southern authors and our list of the South's best books of all time.

You May Like