By Katie James
August 22, 2013

I am writing to invite you to participate in the tenth annual Travel + Leisure Design Awards. Design impacts travel in ways small and large—shaping everything from fashion and luggage to hotel rooms and city skylines—and these awards are a tribute to both the practical and the beautiful. 

The 2013 award winners, representing 22 different categories, included the Louis I. Kahn-designed Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park, in New York City (Best Public Space); a modern reinvention of the double-decker London Bus (Best Transportation); Brooklyn, New York’s industrial-chic hotel, the Wythe (Best Small Hotel); a spectacular above- and below-ground extension to the Städel Museum Frankfurt (Best Museum); and Tierra Patagonia, an unadorned, aerodynamic structure in Torres del Paine, Chile (Best Resort), among others.

To see all of the 2013 honorees, please visit

The 2014 winners will be chosen by a panel of outstanding experts in their fields. Jury members include architect David Adjaye; fashion designer Thom Browne; interior designer Ilse Crawford; landscape architect Mary Margaret Jones; architecture and culture critic Paul Goldberger; Kathy Halbreich, Associate Director of the Museum of Modern Art; and Jerome Griffith, President and CEO of Tumi.

The deadline for nominations is Monday, October 1, 2013 and the application is available at The winning entries will be published in our February 2014 Design Awards issue. I hope you will submit your work for consideration. In the meantime, please contact with any questions.


Nancy Novogrod