The First House Gaudí Ever Designed Will Soon Open to the Public
The famed Barcelona architect was commissioned to design Casa Vicens in 1883.
Catalan architect Antoni Gaudí made a name for himself at the turn of the 20th century with his lavish designs, flamboyant colors, and unique, modernist style.
Designing parks, apartments, and houses, he famously made the plans for the Barcelona church the Sagrada Familia, only to be killed by a bus before his project could ever be completed. More than 100 years later, the church is entering the final phases of its construction.
Many visitors to Barcelona flock to see some of his most famous creations, including the Sagrada Familia, as well as the Parc Guell, where his personal home and museum are located.
Now, even returning visitors to the city will have something new to see, as the first house he ever designed is slated to be turned into a museum, architectural blog Arch Daily reported.
The house, known as Casa Vicens, is located at 24 Carolines Street in Barcelona, and it is scheduled to open to the public in the second half of 2017. Leadership from the museum had originally slated the opening for 2016, but the renovations required to make the house ready took longer than expected, according to the same report.
Broker/dealer Manel Vicens commissioned Gaudí in 1883 to design the house as a summer home. Its bright red and turquoise hues offset the elaborate balconies for which Gaudí was known, and the spacious home is a welcome addition to any Gaudi fan's itinerary. The house has been a UNESCO world heritage site since 2007.
“We need to accomplish two highly important things. One is taking a building that has the curious distinction of being the very first private residence Gaudí designed but the last to enter the constellation of Gaudi sites open to the public in Barcelona and making it a mecca for people interested in his work. This entails communicating the message that Casa Vicens is the prelude to everything else that Gaudí went on to create,” Joan Abellà, director of the museum, told El Periódico d’Andorra.