San Luigi dei Francesi
Named after King Louis IX, this church was built as a house of worship for French people living in Rome in 1518. The Italian marble façade and interior with touches of gold was constructed with funds from Catherine de Medici, who was married to King Henry II of France. The church is still home to three of Caravaggio’s most famous works depicting Saint Matthew, even though the clergy condemned the pieces at the time as blasphemous and too realistic. Entry is free for guests who visit, though coins are required to light the paintings held within the dark Contarelli Chapel.
AmenitiesOpen / Closes
- Accessible by Public Transportation