Les Monastere des Augustines
This 65-room sanctuary, which combines science and healing, has undergone at $40 million renovation. The venue's history goes back to 1639 when a group of Augustinian sisters landed at port from France with a dictum from King Louis XVIII to care for the sick. The sisters founded a hospital in a building with views of the St. Lawrence River, the Old Port, and the commanding Laurentian Mountain. At this monastery-turned-hotel, the focus is on rest and restoration—rooms have Wi-Fi, but no TV or radio. There are workshops ranging from one to seven days in length on subjects like care-giving and mourning to natural healing and stress management , as well as more traditional treatments like massages and reflexology. The food is all local and organic and breakfast is eaten in silence. Present-day day sisters still live on site, but in a different wing.