Down Easter Inn
This 22-room, telephone-free escape on Maine’s central coast is open Memorial Day through Columbus Day. Gilmore Huston, a successful ship chandler from Bristol, built the white, Greek Revival plantation home in 1850. Notable architecural features include the two-level front porch, which is supported by a quartet of fluted, hand-carved white columns topped by ornate Corinthian capitals. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Down Easter places travelers within minutes of boat companies offering tours to Monhegan Island and the rocky coves, lighthouses, and scenic hamlets of Boothbay Harbor. Continental breakfast is part of the stay, and it’s served daily in the main dining room.
Room to Book:
Rooms on the top floor, behind the columns and overlooking the lawn, provide the best views of the surrounding property.
Pemaquid Point is just 20 minutes away via Bristol Road and features a historic (1835) lighthouse that's open to the public and resides on the rocky shoreline above Muscongus Bay.
AmenitiesOpen / Closes
- Accessible by Public Transportation
- Breakfast Included
- Maid Service
- Parking Available
Number of Rooms: 22
Year Opened: 1965