Nassau Walking Tour
Nassau was established in 1670, when King Charles II of England gave the island to six proprietors. Unfortunately, few examples of 18th-century architecture remain. The Ministry of Tourism conducts three separate walking tours that are a great way to see the city's historic sites, including a stroll past restored houses and a hike up the Queen's Staircase (built by slaves from 1793–94). The best tour visits the stately library on Shirley Street (once a jail) and the Ministry of Education (formerly a private mansion), and ends at the National Art Gallery.
Tours depart from the dock at Festival Place at 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. every day except Sunday.