T+L Design Awards 2009
  1. T+L
  2. New York City

T+L Design Awards 2009

Courtesy of André Balazs
Design and architecture shape every aspect of the travel experience, from airports and museums to hotels and luggage. For T+L’s fifth annual competition, our esteemed jury chose the very best in 15 categories.

See our T+L Design Awards 2009 slideshow.

Meet the Jury

Architect Adam D. Tihany founded New York City–based Tihany Design in 1978. His multidisciplinary studio has designed restaurant interiors for Jean-Georges Vongerichten and hotels for the Mandarin Oriental Group, among many other projects.

Lisa Phillips is the director of the New Museum of Contemporary Art in New York. She was formerly the curator of contemporary art at the Whitney Museum of American Art.

Before cofounding the consulting firm Beckelman+Capalino in 2005, preservationist and urbanist Laurie Beckelman worked for New York’s Museum of Arts & Design and served as chair and commissioner of the New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission.

Calvin Klein is recognized globally as a master of minimalism. During his groundbreaking career, he has been recognized by the Council of Fashion Designers of America seven times.

Graphic designer Michael Bierut has been a partner at the firm Pentagram since 1990, where his clients have included Harley-Davidson, the Morgan Library, and the Atlantic magazine. A cofounder of designobserver.com, he is also a senior critic at the Yale School of Art.

Ewina Von Gal is a landscape designer based in East Hampton, New York. She worked with architect Frank Gehry on the botanical park for the Panama Bridge of Life museum, and is developing sustainable landscape planning for the Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute.

Jury moderated by Chee Pearlman; Text by Luke Barr; Reported by Stirling Kelso with Christine Ajudua, Adam Baer, Catherine Crate, Mimi Lombardo, Mario R. Mercado, Suzanne Mozes, and Shira Nanus

Best Travel Fashion

The Final Home Jacket

Designed by Kosuke Tsumura $795; rel="nofollow">finalhome.com

Best Luggage

Y’s Mandarina

Designed by Yohji Yamamoto in collaboration with Mandarina Duck $70–$700; ysmandarina.com

Best Museum

Docks de Paris, La Cité de la Mode et du Design

Paris, France. Designed by Jakob + MacFarlane 36 Quai Austerlitz; no phone.

More from T+L