/
Close
Newsletters  | Mobile

Pairing Wine with Golf

Courtesy of The Phoenician The Phoenician

Photo: Courtesy of The Phoenician

Great Wine Trips: Australia and New Zealand

South Australia

Producing the majority of the country’s wine, South Australia has seventeen different regions, about five of which are located outside the greater Adelaide area, where the golf is all private yet open to international visitors.

Where to Play: Royal Adelaide Golf Club (royaladelaidegolf.com.au) is an Alister MacKenzie links. The distinctly elevated greens of Kooyonga Golf Club (kooyongagolf.com.au) are hard to hit on windy (i.e., most) days.

Where to Taste: A must drink is the famous Penfolds shiraz at one of the legendary label’s wineries in Adelaide or the Barossa Valley (penfolds.com.au). The Bridgewater Mill (bridgewatermill.com.au) houses the tasting room for Petaluma. Also look for smaller vineyards like Clarendon Hills in Blewitt Springs and Tim Adams in Clare Valley.

Where to Stay: A favorite B&B (the way to go here) is The Orangerie (orangerie.com.au); a more romantic stay can be had at the Friendly Meeting Chapel (adelaideheritage.com).

Tour Operators: Check out golfwine australia.com, tastesa.com.au and golftourismaustralia.com.

New Zealand, North Island

Initially known for its sauvignon blanc, New Zealand’s wine industry is expanding, and its spectacular scenery often makes for spectacular golf.

Where to Play: The must plays are Cape Kidnappers (011-64/6875-1900, capekidnappers.com), the photogenic Tom Doak track, and Kauri Cliffs (011-64/9407-0060, kauricliffs.com), another cliffside course where every shot requires precision and focus.

Where to Taste: For a crisp glass of top pinot gris, head to Marsden Estate (marsdenestate.co.nz) and stay for lunch. The Te Mata Estate Winery (temata.co.nz, pictured above), is N.Z.’s oldest winery and, like the Craggy Range Winery (craggyrange.com), is an easy visit after playing nearby Cape Kidnappers.

Where to Stay: The excellent Lodge at Kauri Cliffs (kauricliffs.com) is located on the scenic Bay of Islands, near the Northland wine region. Another luxury option is Huka Lodge (hukalodge.com), a true retreat that offers helicopter transfers for arrivals and departures.

Tour Operators: Lookout Point (lookoutpoint.co.nz)

—M.N.

Advertisement

Sign Up


Connect With Travel + Leisure
  • Travel+Leisure
  • Tablet
  • Available devices

Already a subscriber?
Get FREE ACCESS to the digital edition


Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Marketplace