/
Close
Newsletters  | Mobile

Go For Less

SAN FRANCISCO
The Family Plan package at San Francisco's Pan Pacific hotel (800/533-6465; www.panpacific.com) costs $225 a night for a double, with the opportunity to book a second double at $129. Also included: continental breakfast for two or overnight parking, late checkout, and San Francisco passports for kids—the concierge stamps these daily with a record of sites visited.

ALASKA CRUISE
Top-of-the-line Crystal Cruises (800/820-6663; www.crystalcruises.com) is eliminating the extra-person charge for one child, 12 and under, who shares a three-person cabin with two adults on its 12-day Alaska voyages departing from San Francisco this summer. Adult fares start at $2,775; the standard kids' fare is half that. A children's program, led by naturalists, phys ed teachers, and camp counselors, is included in the price.

MICHIGAN'S UPPER PENINSULA
The new Great Wolf Lodge (866/478-9653; www.greatwolflodge.com), in Traverse City, is home to an indoor water park with five pools, eight slides, and a $1 million water fort. Accommodations in this all-suite resort cost $229 to $399 a night, but for Sunday through Thursday stays before June 30, a 40 percent discount applies. Room rates include admission to the water park—but don't overlook the hiking, biking, and lake swimming.

GRAND CANYON
At Yavapai West Lodge (888/297-2757; www.grandcanyonlodges.com), a 358-room hotel that's just a short walk from the South Rim, doubles are going for $99 a night ($9 per additional person), a savings of 28 percent off high-season rates. The offer is good through September 12; ask for code GET03.

PALM BEACH
Winter stays at the Four Seasons Resort (800/432-2335; www.fourseasons.com) start at $395 a night, but from June through September, off-season rates and a third-night-free offer bring prices as low as $150 on weekdays, $183 on weekends. This Under the Sun package also includes a $100-per-stay resort credit, good for meal and spa charges, and children can participate for free in the daily Kids for All Seasons program.

CANADIAN RAIL
Through August 28, families traveling on VIA Rail Canada (888/842-7245; www.viarail.ca) receive a free kid's ticket (recipients must be 11 or under) for every adult economy-class ticket purchased. Upgrades available: For instance, go first-class on the Skeena train, which makes two-day trips through the Rockies, with formal dining and dome cars. The cost for adults is $324, including meals; kids 2-11 receive a 25 percent discount.

GALÁPAGOS CRUISE
Metropolitan Touring (800/527-2500; www.metropolitan-touring.com) offers a standard 50 percent discount for kids 6-12 on its tours of the Galápagos in Ecuador. This summer it's extending the reduction to under-18-year-olds on late July and August departures aboard 90- or 40-passenger ships. Adult prices range from $998-$1,728 for three-night trips to $2,215-$3,826 for seven nights. Note: Airfare is extra.

GEORGIA'S GOLDEN ISLES
The 1928 Cloister hotel in the Sea Island Resort (800/732-4752; www.seaisland.com) is celebrating its 75th year with a fourth-night rate of $19.28 (doubles start at $300), through November. The resort has five miles of private beach, four pools, 25 tennis courts, three golf courses, and naturalist-led night walks during sea turtle-hatching season, from July through early October.

HAWAII
The Lodge at Koele and Manele Bay Hotel, both Starwood properties on Lanai, are offering a free room to children under 18—when accompanied by their parents. Four-night stays from $2,180, double, through December 25. Contact Pleasant Holidays (800/448-3333; www.pleasantholidays.com).

NEVER TOO LATE The best sites for last-minute vacation bargains

Travelzoo (www.travelzoo.com) Savings from hundreds of travel suppliers, such as Virgin Atlantic, which recently offered $1 companion fares to London.

Go-today (www.go-today.com) European airfare and lodging deals.

Last Minute Travel (www.lastminute travel.com) Air travel, car rentals, and resort deals (Orlando hotels from $49!).

Smarter Living (www.smarterliving.com) Listings of short-notice specials, including lots of family travel values. Check out the discounted children's airfares.

Advertisement

Sign Up


Connect With Travel + Leisure
  • Travel+Leisure
  • Tablet
  • Available devices

Already a subscriber?
Get FREE ACCESS to the digital edition


Advertisement


Advertisement

Advertisement

Marketplace